,

Is Vanilla Extract Halal?

I remember eating a few cookies with a few friends and the topic of vanilla extract being halal or not. That shocked me as I never thought a cookie or a piece of cake could be considered haram. I was determined to find out what the general understanding and concusses was on this subject in the islamic community.

The general consensus is that vanilla extract is halal and permissible as long as the alcohol level is low and not enough to intoxicate you.

What’s the deal with vanilla extract anyways? What does it do and why are some muslims worried about consuming it? Vanilla extract is commonly found in cakes and other desserts. This gets some people questioning whether the dessert they’re eating or making is halal or not.

According to a Toronto baker, vanilla extract adds the flavour of vanilla to the dessert which is easy to taste. Furthermore, it enhances the flavours of the other ingredients in the recipe (source).

Does Vanilla Extract Hav Alcohol In It?

Short answer is, Yes. Typically, there is approximately 0.1% or less of ethyl alcohol in vanilla extract. Companies use this alcohol as a processing aid and for other technical reasons. Having such a low percentage of alcohol, it is not enough to intoxicate anyone.

What Is IFANCA’s Ruling On Whether Vanilla Extract is Halal or Not

A blogger who runs a Halal Foodie blog had the same question and wanted to know if Vanilla Extract was halal and if IFANCA (Islamic Food And Nutrition Council Of America – A Halal Certifying Agency in America) does certify Vanilla extract as halal(source).

Sadaf, the owner of the blog, wrote to them and they responded by saying that after they consulted with Islamic scholars, the conclusion they came to was that vanilla extract products containing less than 0.1% ethyl alcohol that is not sourced from an alcoholic beverage (like beer, wine, and hard liquor etc) is halal and permissible for consumption (source).

Their confirmation came after conducting tests and finding that at a percentage of less than 0.1%, the ethyl alcohol is not detected by sight, smell, or taste and is not intoxicating in any quantity (source).

One common point of confusion is vanilla flavouring, and that is not the same as vanilla extract. Vanilla flavouring can contain up to 35% alcohol and not all products with that much alcohol are certified.

Alcohol-Free Vanilla Extract Options

If alcohol levels is the point of concern for you when using or consuming Vanilla Extract, here are 2 Alcohol-Free Vanilla Extract options we found that could be useful to you.

See also  Can Drink Vanilla Extract Hurt You?

1- NuNaturals Plant Based Vanilla-Alcohol Free Stevia Extract Drops

Vanilla is the second most expensive spice after saffron (source). Vanilla is derived from the vanilla orchid native to tropical regions of Mexico. Vanilla has a distinct and complex flavour, with various notes including woody, floral, and sweet-like tones. When used as an aromatic in cooking, it imparts a characteristically smooth flavour.

Stevia Extract is an alcohol free natural sweetener that has recently become available in North America. The sweetener is extracted from the Stevia plant which contains no calories or carbs and has zero glycemic index rating (source). This extract does not have any impact on blood sugar levels as it does not raise insulin levels in people who may have diabetes (source).

NuNaturals uses glycerin made from palm oil certified by the Round Table on Sustainable Palm Oil. NuNaturals Vanilla NuStevia Alcohol-Free uses only true vanilla extract from premium vanilla beans. Their alcohol-free liquid stevia has a mellower taste than the alcohol-based liquids.

2- OliveNation Alcohol Free Gluten Free Vanilla Extract

With this vanilla flavor you can remove the alcohol and gluten from any recipe without compromising on flavor. The flavor can be maintained under high temperature and provide the sweetness you’re looking for.

Why Do Some People Deem Vanilla Extract Not Halal

According to the General Authority of Islamic Affairs, some muslim scholars maintain that vanilla extract that has been dipped and mixed with 35% or more of ethyl alcohol not to be halal because they deem it to be intoxicating. Since they have not gotten full confirmation that it is not capable of intoxicating a person, they can not give it the halal seal (source).

They conclude their response by saying that a big part of determining whether it is halal or not is the manufacturing.

Their final recommendation was that they recommend alcohol-free vanilla extract as a substitute. They also concluded their response, similarly to IFANCA’s response, tby stating that it is permissible to consume as long as intoxication is absent.

The Islamic Organization For Medical Science Deems Vanilla Extract Halal As Long As It Doesn’t Intoxicate You

According to a response post on Islamweb, they sourced the eighth seminar of the Islamic Organization for Medical Science (IOMS), based in Kuwait, concluding that the consumption of food that has a slight amount of alcohol (used for the purpose of dissaolving materials that are insoluble in water) to be permissible.

Some people are on the camp that any trace of alcohol regardless of whether it intoxicates you is haram because of this hadith. While others believe that is the intent behind the consumption that matters, and that vanilla extract contains a small amount of alcohol used for the process of processing a food rather than intoxication.

See also  The Surprising Reason Why Vanilla Is So Expensive

As we say on HalalGuidance, the final decision is up to you and we’re just sourcing all the available information made to us to help you make your final decision.

Is natural vanilla flavoring halal?

Natural vanilla flavoring, however, can contain up to 35% alcohol. Since alcohol is forbidden in Islam, it is not halal for Muslims to consume this type of flavoring.

However, the fact that natural vanilla extract does not contain any alcohol does not mean it is necessarily halal. You need to make sure that the flavoring actually contains no trace of alcohol so that you can be sure it’s safe for consumption without any doubts.

There is no need to worry because the natural flavoring isn’t halal and can be consumed.

This article was originally published on Islamweb and we want to thank all the people involved in it for the effort they put in.

The post Does Natural Vanilla Flavour Contain Alcohol? (Is It Halal?) appeared first on Islamic Food And Nutrition Association.

Does natural vanilla flavor contain alcohol?

Nutritionist: Halal or Haram? Fatwa of “Fatwa Authority” on Food Preservatives

Halal or Haram? Fatwa of “Fatwa Authority” on Food Preservatives Sustainable Ethics in Nutrition: DOs and DON’Ts for Muslim Consumers in an Era of Growing Health Concerns about GMOs

Sustainable Ethics in Nutrition: DOs and DON’Ts for Muslim Consumers in an Era of Growing Health Concerns about GMOs The 2017 Healthy Eating Index: Conversion to Islam reduces the risk of obesity!

The 2017 Healthy Eating Index: Conversion to Islam reduces the risk of obesity! Applying Islamic principles to the context of health, dating, and fitness

What is natural vanilla flavor made from?

Natural vanilla flavor is extracted from the seeds and bean of an orchid-like tropical plant called Vanilla. Vanilla extract is created by soaking these organic vanilla seeds in an alcohol solution to extract their flavor.

See also  How To Make Creamy Soups Without A Blender

Natural vanilla flavor is made using a process that involves alcohol, which means that it’s not allowed if you are conservative in your religion and want to eat halal food. This article will show you how to find out if natural vanilla flavor contains alcohol, and how to keep yourself safe from any risks associated with consuming this kind of food.

Is Queen natural vanilla extract halal?

Queen is a brand that makes natural vanilla syrup. The product is alcohol-free, doesn’t contain any artificial flavors, preservatives or colorings. Natural vanilla syrup consists of an alcohol-free extract of organic vanilla beans and natural water, and is certified halal by the Islamic Organization for Medical Science (IOMS).

Is Benecol natural vanilla extract halal?

Benecol is a brand of organic and halal non-alcoholic beverage made from the purest form of organic vanilla seeds and pure filtered spring water. It’s free from any artificial flavors, sweeteners or preservatives with no GMO’s. It also contains no gluten or dairy products. The product is available in different flavors such as Vanilla, Chocolate, Strawberry and Raspberry.

Is pure natural vanilla extract alcohol free?

Natural vanilla flavor has Alcohol which means that it’s not halal if you are conservative in your religion and want to eat halal food.This article will show you how to make sure whether the natural vanilla flavor that you are going to buy contains alcohol or not.

Why do people deem natural vanilla extract haram?

According to the General Authority of Islamic Affairs, some muslim scholars maintain that all food products that have alcohol as an ingredient not to be halal because they deem it to be intoxicating.

While this is a minority opinion, most people agree that problematic food products that contain alcohol should not be consumed. That’s why it’s important to know if the natural vanilla flavor you are going to buy contains alcohol or not.

How do you know whether natural vanilla flavor contains alcohol?

There is no definite answer for the question ‘Is natural vanilla flavoring halal?’. Different types of additives and flavors are used in food manufacturing and the different types of extracts could have different ingredients in them. There is no way to check if natural vanilla extract contains alcohol without buying it.

There are certain things that you can check before making a purchase. Ask the seller of the vanilla extract, vanilla syrup or some other kind of natural vanilla flavoring if its alcohol-free. If it is not, then you should not buy it. The second thing to do is to look at the ingredients on the label. Vanilla extract contains a small amount of alcohol for the purpose of dissolving insoluble materials. So if you see a product labeled ‘natural vanilla flavor’ and it doesn’t contain any added ingredients, then your food could be alcohol-free and halal for consumption.

0 responses to “Is Vanilla Extract Halal?”